Brooks & Dunn: The Cowboy Town Tour » 

Country Zone Radio
Follow us on Facebook
News in Brief

Clay Walker is about to release a new record this summer. The album will be called "Long Live Cowboy" and the singer promises it would be pure traditional country music. Yee Haw!


Chris Young revealed his guests on the upcoming record, which will feature duets with Vince Gill and 2013's The Voice winner Cassadee Pope. Chris also co-produces the new album, which should come out later this year.


Merle Haggard and Willie Nelson are teaming up once again and on June 2 they will release a new album called "Django And Jimmie". They already released a music video for the first single "It's All Going To Pot". Now that's bro-country!


Popular duo Montgomery Gentry is going to release a new album on June 9. The record is named "Folks Like Us" and the title song is a current single.


Willie Nelson finally wrote his own memoir. Look for a book named "It’s a Long Story: My Life".

Follow us on Twitter

Brooks & Dunn: The Cowboy Town Tour

Posted by: Petr Mecir

Journal 08/14/2008

Although the summer is the best time of year for visiting Nashville, a disvantage is that the major stars are out on arena tours and when one wants to see a big show, they have to travel long distances. That's why I took a trip to the Kentucky State Fair in Louisville, KY to see Brooks & Dunn and ZZ Top live in concert. The show was kicked off by Rodney Atkins, who was a really good choice.

His set was very similar to his eponymous If You're Going Through Hell CD and he played the first 4 songs off the CD even in the same order - "There Are My People", "About The South", "Watching You" and "Cleaning This Gun". Then he played a song called "15 Minutes" from the upcoming album It's America. He closed the set with the party anthem "If You're Going Through Hell". Atkins didn't spend more than 30 minutes on stage.

Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn appeared after a new faboulous Toyota commercial featuring B&D was shown. As in the past few years, Brooks & Dunn left behing all those lights effects, fireworks, explosions and jumping on the stage, they just walked in and started delivering the best music country music can only offer. They kicked off with the tour title "Cowboy Town" and 10,000 people went Brooks & Dunncrazy. Brooks & Dunn were playing mostly more recent material, although they played only two songs from the latest album Cowboy Town (the title track and "Put A Girl In It"). They featured lot of stufff from the "Hillbilly Deluxe" album ("She Likes To Get Out Of Town", "Play Something Country", "Believe", "Hillbilly Deluxe"). One of the earliest hits they featured was Ronnie's favorite "Neon Moon". Even though each song was warmly and loudly appreciated, to me it was quite surprising that Dunn's powerful vocal performance of "Believe" didn't receive standing ovation, but on the other hand the crowd went totally nuts when a few soldiers walked on stage in "Only In America". Instead of traditional red, white and blue paper stripes they shot a dense net of confetti and then it was quite amusing to watch people getting out of them. Since a full ZZ Top show was supposed to follow, Brooks & Dunn played for only an hour and thus there wasn't time for classics like "My Next Broken Heart", "It's Getting All The Time" and not even Brooks' anthem "You're Gonna Miss Me (When I'm Gone)". They closed the show with "Brand New Man" with its typical wild ending and their biggest smash hit "Boot Scoot Booogie".


The overall impression of the concert was fantastic once again. Being a country fan and not a rock fan, the ZZ Top show, which followed, sounded like a very boring noise. The truth is I can't imagine anybody who could top Ronnie Dunn's performance, so there actually weren't many chances anyway. It was fun to hear "Sharp Dressed Man" and "Gimme All Your Loving" live, but otherwise their show couldn't be matched to Brooks & Dunn's heavenly show. At the end of the show ZZ Top was joined by Brooks & Dunn and together they played "Tube Snake Boogie" and "Jailhouse Rock", which sounded pretty cool.

01 Cowboy Town
02 You Can't Take The Honky Tonk Out Of The Girl
03 Rock My World (Little Country Girl)
04 Hillbilly Deluxe
05 Neon Moon
06 Put A Girl In It
07 She Likes To Get Out Of Town
08 Believe
09 Red Dirt Road
10 Mama Don't Get Dressed Up For Nothing
11 Only In America
12 Play Something Country
13 My Maria

14 Brand New Man
15 Boot Scootin' Boogie



(C) Petr Mecir 2008. All rights reserved.